The Art and Archaeological History of India

With reference to the art and archaeological history of India, which one among the following was made earliest?

  1. Lingaraja Temple at Bhubaneswar
  2. Rock-cut Monuments Mahabalipuram
  3. Rock-cut Elephant at Dhauli
  4. Varaha Image at Udayagiri
Monis Rasool Professor Asked on 23rd August 2015 in Arts.
Add Comment
1 Answer(s)

Rock-cut Elephant Dhauli

A. Rock-cut Elephant at Dhauli – is the world oldest Rock Edict of Ashoka about 250 BC Dhauli. Dhauli hills are locared on the River Daya banks, 8 km south of Bhubaneswar, the Capital of Orissa. You can find splendid edicts of Ashoka embossed on a mass of rock in Dhauli. Rock cut Edit was developed in the region of Ashoka, after the war of Kalinga when Ashoka repented of the violence which he had done, he converted to Buddhism. In a series of rock-cut edicts that he caused to be inscribed on over 100 monuments throughout his vast kingdom. There are four animals in the Capital are believed to symbolize different steps of Lord Buddha’s life.
a. The Elephant represents the Buddha’s idea in reference to the dream of Queen Maya of a white elephant entering her womb
b. The Bull represents desire during the life of Buddha as a prince.
c. The Horse represents Buddha’s departure from palatial life.
d. The Lion represents the accomplishment of Buddha.
You know very well that symbol of Chakra in the middle of Indian Flag taken from the Ashoka Chakra. Second one is a sculpture of four lions standing back to back is the symbol of Government of India and bottom the symbol a galloping horse and a bull also mentioned.

B. Lingaraja Temple at Bhubaneswar– temple is dedicated to Lord Shiva, well known as ‘Lingarj’. Lingaraja temple was first built in 7th century by the ruler Yayati Kesari after that it was built by the Jajati Keshari in 11th Lingaraja temple is the largest temple in the Bhubaneshwar. The term ‘Lingaraj’ suggests ‘the king of Lingas’, where ‘lingas’ is the phallic form of Lord Shiva.
This temple is divided into four parts
1. Garbha Griha
2. Yajna Shala
3. Bhoga Mandap
4. Natya Shala
this temple is the rich legacy of Indian culture and traditions.

C. Varaha Image at Udayagiri – Udayagir is famous for a series of rock-cut caves and temple and a sculpted panel at the Gupta period (4th-6th century CE) caves of Udayagiri, Madhya Pradesh, India. It’s one of India’s most important archaeological sites from the Gupta period nowadays a tourist site under the protection of the Archaeological Survey of India. The most famous carving at Udayagiri is above the five-foot tall statue of Vishnu’s Boar Avatar.

D. Rock-cut Monuments Mahabalipuram – The monuments of Mahabalipuram were built during the reign of Narasimhavarman I & II (630-728 A.D) of the Pallava Dynasty. In 1984 this was declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO. This temple is famous for its rock-cut sculptures of the Pallava period. Mamallapuram is known by many differ names, Mallapuram, Mahamallapuram, Mavalipuram and Mahabalipuram.

Monis Rasool Professor Answered on 26th August 2015.
Add Comment

Your Answer

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.