The Council of Ministers are collectively responsible to the

  1. President
  2. Prime Minister
  3. Lok Sabha
  4. Rajya Sabha
Manish Listener Asked on 18th November 2014 in Politics.
Add Comment
  • 1 Answer(s)

    The Council of Ministers, which is headed by Prime Minister, are collectively responsible to the Lok Sabha (also known as house of people).

    This is not a single body but consists of ministers of different ranks in the government. In general, this cabinet consists of senior ministers and acts like a wheel within a wheel. They are more responsible for the actions taken by the government.

    The whole Council of Ministers formed along Prime Minister and depends on his tenure as PM. If the Prime Minister resigns or dies the whole Council of Ministers goes out along with him. Prime Minister can remove a minister at any time by demanding resignation or having him dismissed by the President.

    Council of Ministers for States:
    The Council of the Ministers of a state in India is collectively responsible to the Legislative Assembly of the State or Upper House. Chief Minister of that State is the head of CoM body.

    Pushpendra Pal Dean Answered on 19th November 2014.
    Add Comment

    Your Answer

    By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.