Who is the Director General of the BBC ?

  1. Karan Thapar
  2.  Tony Hall
  3.  Jimmy Savile
  4.  George Entwistle


Manish Listener Asked on 17th June 2015 in General Knowledge.
Add Comment
  • 1 Answer(s)

    Tony Hall

    BBC is one of the largest broadcasting network, BBC stand for British Broadcasting Corporation whose headquartered in Broadcasting House at westminster,  London.  The Company has broadcasting, radio and web portals in its products portfolio. It is the one of the world renowned news channels which gets broadcast world wide  including India, France, Italy, United Kingdom, Brazil, Australia, China, USA and many more.

    Tony Hall is the 16th Director-General of the BBC. The Director General is the Chief Executive Officer of the BBC, its Editor-in-chief. Tony Hall appointed on 22 November 2012. Prior to this, Tony was Chief Executive of the Royal Opera House from April 2001 until April 2013.  Tony Hall joined the BBC as a news trainee in 1973 and during a 28 years career at the Corporation he held roles including senior Producer at World at One, Assistant Editor of the Nine O’clock News, Output Editor for Newsnight, culminating as Chief Executive of BBC News from 1996 to 2001.

    Director General of BBC.

    Director General Tenure
    Sir John Reith, later The Lord Reith 1927-1938
    Sir Cecil Graves and Robert W. Foot 1938-1942
    Robert W. Foot 1942-1944
    Sir William Haley 1944-1952
    Sir Ian Jacob 1952-1959
    Sir Hugh Greene 1960-1969
    Sir Charles Curran 1969-1977
    Sir Ian Trethowan 1977-1982
    Alasdair Milne 1982-1987
    Sir Michael Checkland 1987-1992
    Sir John Birt, later the Lord Birt 1992-2000
    Greg Dyke 2000-2004
    Mark Byford (acting) January-June2004
    Mark Thompson 2004-2012
    George Entwistle 2012
    Tim Davie (acting) 2012-2013
    The Lord Hall of Birkenhead April 2013 -present
    Monis Rasool Professor Answered on 17th June 2015.
    Add Comment

    Your Answer

    By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.