Originally the Mahabharata was known as

  • Brihatkatha
  • Brahmanas
  • Brihatsamhita
  • Jayasamhita
Monis Rasool Professor Asked on 4th May 2015 in General Knowledge.
Add Comment
  • 1 Answer(s)

    The original name of Mahabharata was Jayasamhita.  

    The Mahabharata was written by the Brahmin Ved Vyasa, between 400 and 100 BCE. It is the story of fight between Kaurava and the Pandava princes.

    The longest version of Mahabharata consists of 1,00,000 Shloka and about 1.8 million words in total. It discusses about the four “goal of life” or Purushartha.

    Actually Mahabharata was originally written by Lord Ganesha and narrated by Ved Vyasa under the name Jaya or Jayasamhita.

    Anurag Mishra Professor Answered on 4th May 2015.
    Add Comment

    Your Answer

    By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.