Which is the Official Language of the State of Karnataka?

  1. Konkani
  2. Tulu
  3. Kannada
  4. Hindi
Monis Rasool Professor Asked on 29th June 2015 in General Knowledge.
Add Comment
1 Answer(s)
Best answer


The Official Language of State of Karnataka is Kannada. Kannada is the Schedule language of India and it is the 33rd most spoken language in the world with 40 million native speakers. Mostly it’s spoken in the southern state of India like Andhara Pradesh, Telangana, Tamil Nadu, Maharashtra, Kerala and Goa. Kannada language has a script known as the ‘Brahmi Script’. It comprises of 35 consonants and 14 vowels. Kannada is the one of the oldest language in the world still in use. English has absorbed some bit of Kannada. Kannada Script is also used by two other language spoken in Karnatak – Tulu and Konkani.

Tulu  is also a southern language  which is spoken around 2 million native speakers mainly in the Karnataka. Tulu belongs to the southern branch of the family of Dravidian languages.

Konkani is one of the 22 language which mentioned in the 8th Schedule of Indian Constitution. Konkani is an Indo-Aryan language belonging to the Indo-European family. Konkani spoken in western coast of India.

Monis Rasool Professor Answered on 30th June 2015.
Add Comment

Your Answer

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.