One Rupee Note

One rupee notes are issued by  the

  1. Reserve Bank of India
  2. State Bank of India
  3. President of India
  4. Government of India
Monis Rasool Professor Asked on 4th June 2015 in Finance.
Add Comment
2 Answer(s)
Best answer

Government of India

One rupee note are issued by the Government of India.  One Rupee note issue by the Ministry of Finance and signed by the finance secretory . The First Rupee notes were issued on 30th November 1917 bearing photo of King George V. In 1917 Rs. 1 = 13 USD Dollar.

In November 1994, printing of Rs. 1 note was stopped mainly due to higher cost and fro freeing capacity to print currency notes of higher denomination. After long time over 20 years. Rs. 1 note has been released on 6 March 2014 by the Finance Ministry. The launch took place at the Shrinathji Temple in Nathdwara Rajasthan.

After the Independence of India, Government of India redesigned Rs. 1 note in 1949 by replacing King’s portrait with the Lion Capital of Ashok. The Word ‘rupee’ comes from the Sanskrit word ‘raupya’. Sher Shah Suri introduced the first rupee.

Monis Rasool Professor Answered on 6th June 2015.
Add Comment

4.   Government of India

Gangesh Gupta Newbie Answered on 6th June 2015.
Add Comment

Your Answer

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.