The Prose Versions of Vedas are Called

  1. Brahmanas
  2. Aranyakas
  3. Upanishads
  4. Samhitas
Monis Rasool Professor Asked on 1st June 2015 in Religion.
Add Comment
  • 1 Answer(s)

    Option 1 is the right answer.

    Vedas are the oldest sacred books of Hinduism. Indian literature begins with the Vedas. They were probably composed beginning about 1400 B.C. The Vedas were a series of sacred texts used in religious rituals and sacrifices and composed in an early form of Sanskrit (Vedic Sanskrit). Even in modern times, the Vedas are regarded as the cornerstone of Hinduism. The Vedas include the basis of the doctrines concerning Hindu divinities. They also present philosophical ideas about the nature of Brahman, Hinduism’s supreme divine being. The word Veda comes from the root ‘Vid‘ which means knowledge.
    The Brahmanas are long prose essays that explain the mythological and theological significance of the rites. After the Brahmanas came highly speculative works called the Upanishads. The inward reflection of the Upanishads and their search for unity in existence gave rise to the development of Indian philosophy.
    The Brahmanas are particularly noted for their instructions on the proper performance of rituals, as well as explain the symbolic importance of sacred words and ritual actions in the main text. Brahmanas lack a homogeneous structure across the different Vedas, with some containing chapters that constitute Aranyakas or Upanishads in their own right.

    Harsh Vardhan Professor Answered on 1st June 2015.
    Add Comment

    Your Answer

    By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.