Which schedule of the Indian Constitution describes the Languages

  1. 4th Schedule
  2. 8th Schedule
  3. 5th Schedule
  4. 2nd Schedule
Add Comment
1 Answer(s)
Best answer

8th Schedule

8th Schedule of the Indian Constitution describes the Language. According to the schedule 8th of Indian Constitution includes the recognition of the 22 languages. These are

  1. Assamese
  2. Bengali
  3. Bodo
  4. Dogri
  5. Gujarati
  6. Hindi
  7. Kannada
  8. Kashmiri
  9. Konkani
  10. Maithili
  11. Malayalam
  12. Manipuri
  13. Marathi
  14. Nepali
  15. Oriya
  16. Punjabi
  17. Sanskrit
  18. Santhali
  19. Sindhi
  20. Tamil
  21. Telugu
  22. Urdu

According to the Article 344 of Indian Constitution 1949, Commission and Committee of Parliament on Official Language.
(1) The President shall, at the expiration of five years from the commencement of this Constitution and thereafter at the expiration of ten years from such commencement, by order constitute a Commission which shall consist of a Chairman and such other members representing the different languages specified in the English Schedule as the President may appoint, and the order shall define the procedure to be followed by the Commission

(2) It shall be the duty of the Commission to make recommendations to the President as to
(a) the progressive use of the Hindi language for the official purposes of the Union;
(b) restrictions on the use of the English language for all or any of the official purposes of the Union;
(c) the language to be used for all or any of the purposes mentioned in Article 348;
(d) the form of numerals to be used for any one or more specified purposes of the Union;
(e) any other matter referred to the Commission by the President as regards the official language of the Union and the language for communication between the Union and a State or between one State and another and their use

Monis Rasool Professor Answered on 21st May 2015.
Add Comment

Your Answer

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.