The State Reorganized on Linguistic Basis?

In which year were the State reorganized on a linguistic basis ?

  1. 1951
  2. 1947
  3. 1950
  4. 1956
Manish Listener Asked on 10th November 2014 in Politics.
Add Comment
1 Answer(s)

State Reorganisation Act was introduced in year 1956. In this amendment states boundaries was reorganised on the basis of Language.

After independence of India on 15 August, 1947 there was a need to organise federal and state structure on the basic of language and culture of people of respective states.

States formed on the basis of Linguistic Reorganization:

  1. Odisha (in 1936)
  2. Andhra Pradesh – became separate state from Telugu speaking (northern) Madras state
  3. Bilaspur merged with Himachal Pradesh
  4. Kerala – Some portion of Madras state
  5. Chandernagore was included in West Bengal
  6. Bihar – some portion was given to West Bengal
  7. Maharashtra – Marathi speaking
  8. Panjab – Panjabi speaking state, enlarged by including East Panjab and Patiyala territory.
Pushpendra Pal Dean Answered on 10th November 2014.
Add Comment

Your Answer

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.