United State Holds Nobel Prize Awards

In which discipline United States holds the maximum number of Nobel Prize awards?

  1. Science
  2. Physics
  3. Chemistry
  4. Medicine-physiology
rohit Default Asked on 3rd August 2015 in Awards & Trophies.
Add Comment
1 Answer(s)


On 27 November 1859, in last will of Alfred Nobel describe one part which is dedicated to “the person who shall have made the most important discovery within the domain of physiology or medicine”. Total 105 Nobel Prizes in Physiology or Medicine have been awarded since 1901. There are nine years without present the award are 1915, 1916, 1917, 1918, 1921, 1925, 1940, 1941 and 1942.

List is given below winner of Nobel Prize in Medicine-Physiology whose belong from United Nations:

Year Name Year Name
1933 Thomas Hunt Morgan 1978 Daniel Nathans
1934 George Hoyt Whipple Hamilton O. Smith
George Richards Minot 1980 George D. Snell
William Parry Murphy 1981 Rogen W. Sperry
1943 Edward Adelbert Doisy 1983 Barbara McClintock
1944 Joseph Erlanger 1985 Michael S. Brown
Herbert Spencer Gasser Joseph L. Goldstein
1946 Hermann Joseph Muller 1986 Stanley Cohen
1947 Carl Ferdianand Cori 1988 Gertrude B. Elion
Gerty Theresa Cori George H. Hitchings
1950 Philip Showalter Hench 1989 J. Michael Bishop
Edward Calvin Kendall Harlod E. Varmus
1952 Selman Abraham Waksman 1990 Joseph E. Murray
1953 Fritz Albert Lipmann E. Donnall Thomas
1954 John Franklin Eders 1992 Edmond H. Fischer
Frederick Chapman Robbins Edwin G. Krebs
Thomas Huckle Weller 1993 Phillip A. Sharp
1956 Andre Frederic Cournand 1994 Alfred G. Gilman
Dickinson W. Richards Martin Rodbell
1958 George Wells Beadle 1995 Edward B. Lewis
Edward Lawrie Tatum Eric F. Wieschaus
Joshua Lederberg 1997 Stanley B. Prusiner
1959 Arthur Kornberg 1998 Robert F. Furchgott
1961 George von Bekesy Lous J. Ignarro
1962 James Dewey Watson Ferid Murad
1964 Konrad Bloch 1999 Gunter Blobel
1966 Peyton Rous 2000 Paul Greengard
Charles Brenton Huggins Eric R. Kandel
1967 Haldan keffer Hartline 2001 Leland H. Hartwell
George wald 2002 H. Robert Horvitz
1968 Robert W. Holley 2003 Paul Lauterbut
Marshall W. Nirenberg 2004 Richard Axel
1969 Max Delbruck Linda B. Buck
Alfred D Hershey 2006 Andrew Z. Fire
Salvador E. Luria Craig C. Mello
1970 Julius Axelrod 2007 Mario r. Chpecchi
1971 Earl W. Sutherland, Jr. Oliver Smithies
1972 Gerald M Edelman 2009 Elizabeth H. Blackburn
1975 David Baltimore Carol w. Greider
Renato Dulbecco Jack w. Szostak
Howard Martin Temin 2011 Bruce A. Beutler
1976 Baruch S. Blumberg Ralph M. Steinman
D. Carleton Gajdusek 2013 James E. Rothman
1977 Roger Guillemin Randy W. Schekman
Andrew V. Schally Thomas C. Sudhof
Rosalyn Yalow 2015 John O’Keefe
Monis Rasool Professor Answered on 4th August 2015.
Add Comment

Your Answer

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.